You are here: Home External Advisors
Document Actions

External Advisors

Our Computer Science curriculum is based on the international ACM/IEEE Guidelines for Computer Science and is accredited every 5 years by the British Computer Society. Locally we are a member of the Computer Society of South Africa and are heavily involved with our professional academic society, SAICSIT. Our Advisory Board gives input on our curriculum as well as the strategic direction of the department.


BCS - The Chartered Institute for IT

The Department of Computer Science is a registered member of The British Computer Society - The Chartered Institute for IT.

The BCS is a professional body that represents those working in the Information Technology environment, both in the United Kingdom and internationally. Established in 1957, and in 2009 it rebranded as BCS — The Chartered Institute for IT

Our BSc Honours  in Computer Science is accredited by the BCS (CITP and Partial CSci), subject to the completion of the undergraduate major in Computer Science at the University of Cape Town.  UCT’s Bachelor of Business Science specialising in Computer Science is similarly accredited by the BCS.

Industrial Advisory Board

The Advisory Board consists of senior people from businesses and industries that are associated with the Department. Members represent their companies but act in a personal capacity and with a personal commitment to helping the Department.
In a continually evolving industry we recognize that there are different kinds of role players, and thus the companies below include large software consultancies, major users of ICT, small innovative companies, business incubators and NGOs.

The Advisory Board supports the profession of ICT at UCT by reviewing the curriculum of the department and commenting on it from an industry perspective; advising the department on industry trends; participating in strategic planning to take into account the needs of local industry and commerce; advising the department on how to maintain contact with industry; advising students on career choices; contributing to the strategic support fund of the Department, etc.

The department is grateful to the Advisory Board for their time and assistance.  Board members are:




Donovan Muller


Ruan Viljoen 


Andrea Bohmert

Black Ginger

Mark Bloch 


Greg Reis   (Chair)


Jenny McKinnell


Danny Day 

City of Cape Town

Andre Stelzner


Charles Pritchard


Peter Raine


Nezaam Joseph


Thabiet Allie

SAP Africa

Danie Kok

Standard Bank

Brendon Wilson


Andrew Hutchison


Izak Janse van Rensburg

UCT Information Systems Head

Lisa Seymour

UCT CS Undergraduate

Thabo Ndlovu

UCT CS Postgraduate

Neann Mathai

UCT Dean of Science

Anton le Roex

UCT Deputy Vice Chancellor

Sandra Klopper

last modified 2013-07-12 14:00